Script: Check activation status and activate if not RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

I know a script like this must exist out there, but I have been unable to find it through searching.

What I'm looking for is a script that will run as a machine start up script, check the license activation status (Win 7 Ent), and if already activated do nothing, but if not activated, run the command line - slmgr.vbs /ato

I have zero script knowledge and my feeble attempts to write a .bat using the IF condition fail miserably.

If you have a link to a script or know what the syntax should be for a statement that asks "is Windows activated?" to create such a .bat, I would be extremely grateful.

Thanks in advance.

Friday, September 13, 2013 9:00 AM

Answers

• If you have a KMS server registered with AD then the activations is automatic.

¯\_(ツ)_/¯

• Marked as answer by Highspeedlane Friday, September 13, 2013 11:56 PM
    Friday, September 13, 2013 11:50 AM

All replies

• Hello Highspeedlane,

the WMI key "SoftwareLicensingProduct" returns you what you want.
    You could use PowerShell and call:

Get-WmiObject SoftwareLicensingProduct | Where { $_.LicenseStatus -eq 1 }

if no results are returned, call the slmgr.vbs.

Cheers,
    Fred

There's no place like 127.0.0.1

Friday, September 13, 2013 9:37 AM
  • You cannot automatically activate Windows.  YOU can call and get an activation key and install it using slmgr but slmgr cannot do an unattended Internet Activation.

¯\_(ツ)_/¯

Friday, September 13, 2013 10:13 AM
  • Fred thanks, that's a huge start for me. Will need to smarten up on PS script for this.
    Friday, September 13, 2013 10:14 AM
  • You cannot automatically activate Windows.  YOU can call and get an activation key and install it using slmgr but slmgr cannot do an unattended Internet Activation.

¯\_(ツ)_/¯