none
Show the 5 newest Security logs for each Instance ID 4624, 4648 & 5031 RRS feed

• Question

• I am very new to PowerShell and have really enjoyed the different blogs I have seen on this site. They have been very helpful. However I have been tasked with creating a PowerShell script that will output to HTML the security events An account was successfully logged on, A logon was attempted using explicit credentials and Windows Firewall Service blocked an application from accepting incoming connections on the network. The Event ID's are 4624, 4648, and 5031. I need to be able to list the 5 newest of each one and output it into one HTML form. 

I have been able to get the results using Get-EventLog -Newest 5 -LogName Security -InstanceID 4624, 4648, 5031 However it only show the newest five. I am not sure how to go about getting the output for each of the three ID's.

i know to output it to HTML I will need to do the ConvertTo-HTML then do the out-file. I am just stuck on how to get the 5 newest logs for each ID. Any help or direction will be appreciated. 

Sunday, December 6, 2015 7:24 PM

Answers

• $SecLog=Get-WinEvent -FilterHashTable @{Logname='Security';ID=4624} -Max 5
    $SecLog+= Get-WinEvent -FilterHashTable @{Logname='Security';ID=4648} -Max 5
    $SecLog+=Get-WinEvent -FilterHashTable @{Logname='Security';ID=5031} -Max 5

$seclog | ConvertTo-Html

\_(ツ)_/

• Edited by jrv Monday, December 7, 2015 2:01 AM
    • Marked as answer by CBFifty Monday, December 7, 2015 2:27 AM
    Monday, December 7, 2015 2:01 AM

All replies

• Get-WinEvent -FilterHashTable @{Logname='Security';ID=4624} -Max 5
    Get-WinEvent -FilterHashTable @{Logname='Security';ID=4648} -Max 5
    Get-WinEvent -FilterHashTable @{Logname='Security';ID=5031} -Max 5

\_(ツ)_/

Sunday, December 6, 2015 7:45 PM
  • jrv,