none
Power Query / Weekly growth - Import from folder RRS feed

• Question

• Dear all,

I'm new in using Power Query as a tool. Here for you I have an issue that would like to have help for.

I'm now trying to pull out data from different data sources to get an optimal overview about weekly performances. Data are being pulled out from the same folders, where I add more files on a weekly basis, effectively; but I want to do more. 

Here below  a simplified example of what I'm trying to do. I would like to add in-between columns to - for example - calculate the weekly growth by simply subtracting CW02 to CW03 values. Given that this can be easily done for the data that I have already with me, do you have any ideas how I can automatically produce this when new data - and so columns - will be added to my folder and updated on the query?

Thank You!

Lorenzo

Wednesday, January 22, 2020 2:46 PM

Answers

• Hi Lorenzo

Hope you're going well. With no news, following proposal assumes CSVs stored in a folder looking like:

let
        Source = Folder.Files("PathToCsvFolder"),
        BinariesOnly = Table.SelectColumns(Source,{"Content"}),
        BinsToTables = Table.TransformColumns(BinariesOnly,
            {"Content", each
                let
                    getData = Csv.Document(_,[Delimiter=",", Encoding=65001, QuoteStyle=QuoteStyle.None])
                in
                    Table.PromoteHeaders(getData, [PromoteAllScalars=true]),
                type table
            }
        ),
        CombinedTables = Table.Combine(BinsToTables[Content]),
        UnpivotedNonParts = Table.UnpivotOtherColumns(CombinedTables, {"Part#"}, "Week", "Value"),
        ValueAsNumber = Table.TransformColumnTypes(UnpivotedNonParts,{{"Value", type number}}),
            weekColumns = List.Buffer(List.Skip(Table.ColumnNames(PivotedWeek))),
        PivotedWeek = Table.Pivot(ValueAsNumber, List.Distinct(ValueAsNumber[Week]), "Week", "Value", List.Sum),