none
Confused about recovery points & synchronization RRS feed

• Question

• Hi there,

I'm relatively new to DPM 2010 and after reading through technet I'm still a bit confused on how DPM file protection recovery points and synchronization works.

I have a share that I'm protecting with recovery points at 8 a.m., 12p.m., and 6p.m.  I have synchronization set to 1 hour.

With this configuration I was expecting that my recovery options at 3:30 p.m. would look like this:

8a.m., 12:p.m., 1p.m., 2p.m., 3p.m.

However, I only see 8a.m. and 12p.m. - is this expected?  Is the 12p.m. point supposed to be updated by the synchronization so that it's really 3p.m.'s data?

Thanks for any help!

Wednesday, April 20, 2011 4:45 PM

Answers

• In the example you have given, sync happens a every hour.

And restore points are created @ 8 AM, 12 PM and 6 PM

As we dont have a Restore Point @ 3 PM, we can see only  2 Restore points at 3:30 PM

Next Restore Point happens at 6 PM. That would correspond to changes till the last sync happened before the Restore point creation.

Hence we might not see a Restore Point for 3 PM data, but for syncs happened till 6 PM in Restore Point created at 6 PM.

Assume we have a volume C: and we are protecting C:\Data having 2 files A, B

we are protecting at 7:30 AM with the settings as given by you:

timeline                 JobTriggered           Source                    Replica               Restore Point

7:30  AM                  InitialReplication     A, B                        A, B                   ---

8:00 AM                   RestorePoint           A, B, C                    A, B                   Shadow copy created on replica and exposed as Restore Point (will have A, B as in replica)

[This is a RestorePoint Job hence, this will not do sync, but just creates a restore point which would correspond to syncs happened till before the Restore Point creation]