none
Windows 10 issue with VBScript using ArrayList RRS feed

• Question

• I have a single line in a VBScript method that works fine on Windows 7, but will not work with Windows 10.

Code:

Set Tests = CreateObject("System.Collections.ArrayList")

I get a generic runtime error with no other information. I'm wondering if this might be an issue of the .Net 4.6 framework not supporting this method. My Win 7 machine has 4.52 installed and it works great.

It seems so benign and simple, but I'm at a loss as to what to do going forward other than rewriting the code using a different method for the list.

Any help is appreciated.

Tuesday, September 15, 2015 5:32 PM

Answers

• I found the solution to my problem.

This code was being executed from a host program and didn't provide any debug information other than the generic runtime error box.

I created a standalone test script to execute and windows was able to detect and suggest the solution. It turns out I needed an earlier version of .Net 3.5. This fixed my problem.

• Marked as answer by Scott GMan Tuesday, September 15, 2015 11:16 PM
    Tuesday, September 15, 2015 11:16 PM

All replies

• Works fine for me on the latest version of Windows 10.

\_(ツ)_/

Tuesday, September 15, 2015 5:41 PM
  • I found the solution to my problem.

This code was being executed from a host program and didn't provide any debug information other than the generic runtime error box.

I created a standalone test script to execute and windows was able to detect and suggest the solution. It turns out I needed an earlier version of .Net 3.5. This fixed my problem.

• Marked as answer by Scott GMan Tuesday, September 15, 2015 11:16 PM
    Tuesday, September 15, 2015 11:16 PM
  • you cannot install an earlier version of 3.5 on Windows 10.  Is somebody pulling your leg?

\_(ツ)_/

Tuesday, September 15, 2015 11:43 PM
  • Sorry, I wrote it up quickly and it was poorly written.