locked
Is it safe to delete all features from preupgrade check RRS feed

  • Question

  • Hello all experts -  Please advise if it is safe to delete all the features that are reported as unknown in preupgrade check.  I am just concerned that I might break something.  Thanks in advance.
    Wednesday, March 14, 2012 1:52 PM

Answers

  • It's only safe provided the features aren't being used for something. This is especially true if the feature is part of a custom solution and not an out of the box feature, since only you will know if you're using the feature.

    Are you upgrading to SharePoint 2010? I'm assuming you are since that is usually why you would be running the preupgrade check. Before deleting them, if you plan on performing a database attach upgrade (as opposed to an inplace upgrade) make a copy of your content databases and try the Test-SPContentDatabase cmdlet in your new SharePoint 2010 farm. It should report any issues about these features.


    Jason Warren
    Infrastructure Specialist
    Habañero Consulting Group
    www.habaneros.com/blog

    Wednesday, March 14, 2012 5:21 PM

All replies

  • It's only safe provided the features aren't being used for something. This is especially true if the feature is part of a custom solution and not an out of the box feature, since only you will know if you're using the feature.

    Are you upgrading to SharePoint 2010? I'm assuming you are since that is usually why you would be running the preupgrade check. Before deleting them, if you plan on performing a database attach upgrade (as opposed to an inplace upgrade) make a copy of your content databases and try the Test-SPContentDatabase cmdlet in your new SharePoint 2010 farm. It should report any issues about these features.


    Jason Warren
    Infrastructure Specialist
    Habañero Consulting Group
    www.habaneros.com/blog

    Wednesday, March 14, 2012 5:21 PM
  • Thank you very much for the reply.  The problem is that all these features are unknown. No matter how many commands we run all these features  are unknown and are being reported as potential pre upgrade blocks.  If a feature is being used for something why would it show as an error?   Featureadmin tool is also reporting them as faulty features and guids are matching with preupgrade check report.  In such case can I delete them? 
    Thursday, March 15, 2012 6:44 PM
  • Hi,

    I would suggest you to analyze the use of these features before removing them.

    You already have guids so go to 12\Template\Features folder and check the features with these guids and check their use and impact if you uninstall them


    Thanks, Rahul Rashu

    Friday, March 16, 2012 2:37 AM
  • Thank you for the reply.  The error says the feature is referenced in the content database but it is not installed on the web server.  So there is no feature available under features folder.  In this case would you think it is safe to delete the bad feature?
    Friday, March 16, 2012 4:00 PM
  • If it is referenced, but it is not being used, you can delete it. But as Jason mentioned, please backup your database at first.


    Jinchun Chen
    Forum Support
    Please remember to mark the replies as answers if they help and unmark them if they provide no help. If you have feedback for TechNet Subscriber Support, contact tnmff AT microsoft.com(Please replace AT with @)

    Thursday, March 29, 2012 3:52 AM
    Moderator
  • Try this tool SharePoint Feature Administration and Clean Up Tool to confirm the references.



    Regards Ram

    Friday, March 30, 2012 5:50 AM