Use LDAP Aliases for Authentication? RRS feed

• Question

• We have a number of applications that use ldap authentication with Active Directory. Unfortunately, many of these applications only allow you to specify one server during configuration. We've had situations where the one domain controller specified in the application has had an issue, which has then prevented the application from working properly. My manager wants me to look at utilizing ldap aliases to get around situation; however, I have no experience with this nor can I find much information about it.

Can anyone shed some light on the situation?

Thanks.

Monday, September 12, 2011 1:00 AM

Answers

• hi!

if your application is making really only LDAP queries against AD and is not using any other functionality like LDAPS or Kerberos, there is another (quick and dirty) way: Go to your DNS Server and make (manually) a "Round Robin" entry for, let's say, my_special_ldap.domain.com and enter all the DCs there. Point your application to my_special_ldap.domain.com and it will query the DCs in a round robin manner, that means every time it queries the DNS for an IP address for my_special_ldap.domain.com it will receive the next DC.

This will not prevent you from making a query to a DC that is down (since the DNS entry will still be delivered), but it will reduce the chance of contacting an offline DC. And in case of a server failure - just change the DNS entry...

hope this helps. of course the query to domain.com is more elegant since there is a kind of automatic update to that record, but not all DNS domains are set up to support A records for domains and not all applications can handle this either.

Regards, Ralf

Ralf Wigand, MVP Windows Server:Directory Services
    • Marked as answer by marks70 Wednesday, September 14, 2011 10:43 PM
    Monday, September 12, 2011 7:56 PM

All replies