What is the best way to Log information RRS feed

• Question

• I have tried numerous ways and forgive me I have only known PowerShell for a few days so a complete novice here. Below almost works as expected but not quite.

#Copies the contents of Code_mapping.txt in the LNAT folder in a local location onto a test location on the I drive

[string]$sourceDirectory = "C:\Users\Simon.Evans\Documents\Source Data\LNAT\Code_Mapping.txt"
    [string]$destinationDirectory = "I:\Dev\BI\Projects\Powershell\Test Area\Source Data\LNAT\Code_Mapping.txt"

Try
    {
    Copy-item -Force -Recurse -Verbose $sourceDirectory -Destination $destinationDirectory -ErrorAction Stop
    "$(Get-Date)`tCopying files..." | Out-File -FilePath "C:\Users\Simon.Evans\Documents\Scripts\FileCopyLog.txt" -Append
    }
    Catch
    {
    "$(Get-Date)`tFailed to Copy files..." | Out-File -FilePath "C:\Users\Simon.Evans\Documents\Scripts\FileCopyLog.txt" -Append
    "$(Get-Date)`t$($Error[0].Exception.Message)" | Out-File -FilePath "C:\Users\Simon.Evans\Documents\Scripts\ErrorLog.txt" -Append
    }

The output I am trying to achieve is something like below where it takes just 4 fields stored in the transcript and enters them into either a CSV or a TXT file as columns and appends each time the script is run.

However if there is a better method I am not aware of or should be using then please feel free to advise. I simply just want to log the event that has occurred and handle the error also in a separate but similar file.

Thursday, June 20, 2019 7:49 AM

All replies

• Instead of having to write it out every time, you could just create a function and then call that function. That way if you want to make modifications to how you log you do it in the function. I use this which I wrote a long time ago, simple and does what I need.

Function Logger
    {
      param
      (
        [Parameter(Position=0,Mandatory=$true)]
    	[string]$FilePath,

[Parameter(Position=1,Mandatory=$true)]