none
Domain without any domain GPO?

Question

• I would like to seek advice. There is this special request in our environment: We want to join all computers to a domain but we don't want any domain policy applied, the default domain policy will be disabled, no other policy will be created (domain controller policy will remain). As I have never done such an set up before and this practice is not found in any AD text, neither in any websites when I googled.

If no policy is applied, is it correct that only local policy will take effect? What happen to domain policy password?

Is there any impact to the operation of the domain or the members of domain?

Thanks in advance.

Valuable skills are not learned, learned skills aren't valuable.

Thursday, May 19, 2016 9:20 AM

Answers

• Hi,

In my opinion, it is not come from default domain policy, it is directed into Active Directory database.

Within Windows Server 2008, you won't be establishing Account Policies with the Default Domain Policy. In fact, you won't be using GPOs for creating Account Policies for domain user accounts at all. In Windows Server 2008, you will be directed into the Active Directory database to make your modifications. Specifically, you will use a tool like ADSIEdit to modify the Active Directory object and its associated attributes.

For more information, you could refer to the part of Account Policy within Windows Server 2008 of the article below.

Windows Domain Password Policies

https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/magazine/2007.12.securitywatch.aspx

Best Regards,

Jay

Please remember to mark the replies as answers if they help and un-mark them if they provide no help. If you have feedback for TechNet Subscriber Support, contact tnmff@microsoft.com.

Friday, May 20, 2016 2:15 AM
  • I did some tests.