none
downloading Sharepoint files via the IAG RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I'm new to the IAG and looking for some help in understanding what is going on behind the scenes.

We have a Sharepoint 2007 application that sits behind a proxy server (ISA) with an IAG 2007 server which authenticates a user session. 

I have inherited some C# code wrapped up in an ActiveX component that sits on the client and does the following:
    1) downloads one or more documents from a sharepoint document list onto the client (root of C: drive) using the httpwebrequest and webclient objects
    2) prints each document out as a batch

i.e. it is a bulk printer for Sharepoint docs.

Without the IAG in place and going on to a Sharepoint application there is no problem downloading word binary files etc. However, with the IAG in place the files output have the appropriate extension e.g. .doc, .xls etc but the content is text/html and not binary and there is a whole bunch of javascript code with function names such as whlGetDomainName, whlGetCookieName, whlFunction. Below this is an html frame element with a src attribute referencing the document that is to be downloaded/printed. I've pasted the content of the "word" doc below this post.

Obviously, this is no good to me and what I was expecting was the actual physical documents to be downloaded off the Sharepoint server ready for the print routine to do it's job.

Is this behaviour by design and if so is there a switch/configuration I can make so that I can get the client component to download the actual physical files?

I'm also looking at optimizing the code. At the moment for example:
    1) a document is requested when a user clicks on a javascript print link on the Sharepoint app. This instantiates the client component and sends a request for the documents. The response to this is the text/html IAG login page and the cookies are stored in a cookiecontainer object