none
Kerberos authentication logging

Question

• Hello,

I am an analyst with a university, and am relatively new to the field, so I apologize in advance for any incompetency.

When I started this job a few months ago, the school had just put in a SEIM, with little knowledge on the software. This led to a lot of inaccuracies in event logging and its AI engine. One alarm set of alarms, Internal Brute Force Auth/Failed Brute Force Auth/Internal Distributed Auth, fires almost daily, usually multiple times a day. These fire when the SEIM detects more then 10 authentication failures from a user account within 15 minutes followed by a successful authentication (with the exception of the Failed Brute Force Auth). 

I've determined that this can sometimes be the result of a  user changing their password, and a service on their machine not being able to authenticate correctly with a server (this can usually be determined by the reason code provided by kerberos). However, more often then not, they'll fire when a user simply types in a bad username once. For instance, recently an admin tried to log into a local admin account on a machine, and made the first time he attempted to log in. He only made this mistake once, however there were a total of 19 logs within 2 minutes, all authentication failures from that admin account against one of our domain controllers. 

This didn't lead to his account being locked, and its not necessarily having any big impact on our operations, but I'd like to be able to mitigate the amount of alarms we receive on a daily basis. My question is what could be causing so many logs to be generated from only one misentry? Does the computer itself make more then one request when trying to receive the TGT from kerberos, leading to multiple logs? 

Thank you in advance, please let me know if you need any clarification.

Wednesday, January 4, 2017 4:22 PM

Answers

• Hi,