MAPI over HTTP connection test issue RRS feed

• Question

• Hi all

I'm a total newbie to this all.

Basically I've run the remote connectivity tester "outlook connectivity" and it's failing at the last section on MAPI over HTTP.

This is the error that i'm getting:

Testing HTTP Authentication Methods for URL https://mail.exchangesrver.me/mapi/emsmdb/?MailboxId=b7218b28-c482-44b9-9ca2-7496fae1ce11@xxxxxxxx.com.
      The HTTP authentication test failed.
      Tell me more about this issue and how to resolve it

Additional Details

A 401 error was received from the server, but no authentication methods are supported.
    HTTP Response Headers:
    request-id: 9cbf8909-cad3-4659-97d4-77f2fd169850
    X-FEServer: EXCHANGESERVER
    Content-Length: 0
    Date: Mon, 07 Nov 2016 18:32:15 GMT
    Server: Microsoft-IIS/10.0
    X-Powered-By: ASP.NET
    Elapsed Time: 67 ms.

I've tried on the server to run:

Test-OutlookConnectivity -RunFromServerId exchangeserver -ProbeIdentity OutlookMapiHttpSelfTestProbe

the test came back successful.

I've also checked that the external and internal connections for MAPI are the same, which they are.

I'm all out of options at the moment.

Any help appreciated

Thanks

A 401 error was received from the server, but no authentication methods are supported.
    HTTP Response Headers:
    HTTP Response Headers:
    Monday, November 7, 2016 6:53 PM

Answers

• Hi Edward

Yes it is exchange server 2016 cu3.

I'm not sure how to check MAPI/HTTP is enabled at the org level? (i'm a newbie still learning)

I configured the MAPI virtual directory through the ECP, both the internal and external are sitting as https://mail.ex2016.com.

I've checked the authentication and non are ticked,. Which ones should be ticked as standard?

Thanks

Yep.  That's the same issue I saw on a deployment.  Go ahead and check NTLM and try an IISreset.  That should take care of it.  

If it's Exchange 2016 MAPI/HTTP is enabled by default.