none
CopyProfile not working for me MDT 2013 deploying Windows 10 RRS feed

• Question

• Hi Folks,

I'm a relative newbie to MDT technology, having used ghost for my whole career.  I've been using a couple of technet articles on , first, creating a windows 10 reference image using MDT 2013, and then , second, deploying that image to a computer.  I'm happy with the results so far except I'm confused about copyprofile .  I can't get it to work and the articles/tutorials I'm using don't cover this.

These are my current steps:

1. Create a deployment share called MDTBuildlab to create a reference image.  As part of this process, I accessed the unattend.xml through Task Sequence -> OS Info tab and followed the steps to enable CopyProfile.  As i added a suspend action in the Task Sequence, I customized the Administrator profile to my liking and resumed the successful creation of the reference image. 

2. I created a 2nd deployment share called MDTProduction  and imported the image file I created earlier.  I didn't do anything in Task Sequences except enable Microsoft updates and I disabled "Restore user States and "Restore user groups."  However, i did modify the boot.ini and customsettings.ini files to add the computer to a domain.  This step works fine.

When I deployed the image to a computer and logged on with a domain user account, none of the desktop shortcuts and other default user profile modifications seem to have took.  I'm wondering if I should have edited the unattend.xml file in the Production share as opposed to the reference build image creation? 

Any suggestions?

Many thanks Adrian

Tuesday, April 26, 2016 10:03 PM

Answers

All replies

• Great question. Tons of useful detail and you even have your answer at the very end. Add copy profile to your unattend you use to deploy.

Many questions such as where do I find logs and what logs are interesting are found in: MDT TechNet Forum - FAQ & Getting Started Guide Please take the time to read it.