none
Powershell cmdlet RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

i'm a quite beginner!

how can i write a cmdlet?

how can i have access to source of cmdlet?

sorry if my questions are a bit stupid.

Regards

Monday, February 3, 2020 11:48 AM

All replies

• You may start with learning the very basics of Powershell firstMicrosoft Channel 9 - Getting Started with Microsoft PowerShell 3.0

Live long and prosper!

(79,108,97,102|%{[char]$_})-join''

Monday, February 3, 2020 1:00 PM
  • Hi Thierry

Basically a cmdlet is a function with parameter (s).

You would like to read the code (great thing to do, to learn how to same the same)

If the cmdlet is in a PS Module, open the .psm1 file in the module folder. At this step, 2 ways

• Functions are declared in this file
    • Functions are located in separates .ps1 file (generally in a Module subfolder call Public and Private. Public for public function you can call, Private for private function used only the Public functions)

A second way : to build you own function.  

• Launch ISE, Modify Menu, Start Snippets ... and you have an entry Cmdlet (Advanced Function) ...

This could help to build your own functions (reuse code is the real power :-) ).

Careful : some functions used .dll or compiled code, then you can't show it.

to build your own function : Go Step by step

• Simple function
    • Function with param
    • Advanced function

Here some samples of functions and use

# A simple function
    function Myfunction
    {  
        Write-Host "Call me with My Name : " -ForegroundColor Green -NoNewline
        Write-host "Conan the barbarian" -ForegroundColor Red
    }
    Myfunction

# A function with one parameter
    function Myfunction ($Name)
    { 
        Write-Host $Name -ForegroundColor Red
    }
    Myfunction -Name "Conan the barbarian"

# an Advanced function
    function Myfunction
    {
     <#
    .Synopsis
       Return an order
    .DESCRIPTION
       Return an order
    .PARAMETER Name