Cannot access sites from Application server RRS feed

• Question

• I have a setup with a dedicated application server, three front-end servers and an SQL server. From the front-end servers and from the outside, I can access all my sites just fine. However, from the Application server, I can only access the Central Administration.

Whenever I try to access the sites I simply get this message:

Error
    File not found

All application pools are running just fine, I am an administrator and should have access, and as said, the sites work fine from any other computer/server.

This also results in a lot of errors in the event log with ID 2424, because the indexing search service is running from the App server.
    Example:

The update cannot be started because the content sources cannot be accessed. Fix the errors and try the update again.

Context: Application 'ssp.intranet', Catalog 'Portal_Content'

Thursday, November 4, 2010 8:19 AM

Answers

• Hi

Can you ping the DNS hostnames for your web applications from the application server, and if so do they resolve to the relevant IPs for your front end servers?

Perhaps you have some entries in the hosts file?

The reason I think this may be the case, is because you can access Central Admin which presumably is NOT load balanced and thus you are connecting directly to one server via it's hostname. If your DNS is working properly then everything should be fine connecting to different web applications on the same server that hosts central administration.

Conrad Goodman MCITP SA / MCTS: WSS3.0 + MOSS2007
    • Marked as answer by Peng Lei Thursday, November 11, 2010 2:08 AM
    Thursday, November 4, 2010 9:20 AM