Redirected Libraries Unsharable in Homegroup RRS feed

• Question

• Hello, 

I'm a long time sysadmin.  I have my standard user libraries on my D drive rather than C.  I used the built in redirection capability in the 'location' tab of each library item (such as My Documents) to move the folders to my second drive.  Here's the problem:

Since redirecting my libraries, I can't share them over my HomeGroup.  When I go into HomeGroup settings and check Documents (for instance), then select OK, when I go back in to the HomeGroup settings, Documents isn't checked.  (NOTE: I went to another computer that didn't have redirected library folders and performed the same operation successfully, so it's not a matter of education.)  I was able to share my D:\users\me\my documents folder manually to the HomeGroup, but I lose type discovery functionality on other devices, such as my new wonderful Microsoft Surface Pro 128, when I use this method.  Does anyone know a workaround to this bug?

PLEASE, with all due respect, no cookie cutter responses after half reading this post.  Brainstorming and conversation on the topic would be helpful, but you KNOW I don't need to post my DXDIAG or something else that just gives you a point for posting.  Someone who knows the solution will eventually come along.

Thanks,

Shawn

ShawnBurton

Wednesday, May 15, 2013 3:40 PM

Answers

• Since redirecting my libraries, I can't share them over my HomeGroup
    Sorry, sounded like Homegroup was enabled before changing folder locations.

Out of interest, does your redirected Documents folder have a Location tab in it's right click -> Properties window ?

As you say, you could try repeating the process but as an alternative you could try:

1. Disable sharing of folders on the Homegroup.
    2. Restore default folder locations (try option 2 in the link below if location tab not present)
    http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials/18583-user-folders-restore-default-location.html