none
VPN/NPS theory questions

Question

• Hello!

I've been using Windows RRAS for a number of companies for many years, and before deploying it with a new Windows Server version I used to re-learn what I already knew about RRAS using a new MS official curriculums. All MS guides I've read so far left me with a feeling that there was something I didn't understand in RRAS/NPS - now when I have a new MCSA2016 guide at hand I'd like to ask a couple of questions regarding RRAS/NPS which I've never seen explained so far.

Suppose you are a system administrator that configures RRAS for the first time. First of all an administrator should determine whether he/she would use a RADIUS server or VPN server for the authentication/accounting purposes:

Having read this an administrator should know that he/she can use either RADIUS (which is called NPS in Windows) or VPN server for user authentication. Suppose then that an administrator decided NOT to use RADIUS and use instead VPN authentication - it means that he/she should NOT install MS RADIUS server (NPS Role Service) and configure Connection request policies and network policies because RADIUS infrastructure is NOT required (Note: To enable a RADIUS infrastructure, install the Network Policy and Access Services server role.).

So an administrator is going to have to install only one role service - Remote Access:

As you can see NPS is not required - and is NOT added! - during Remote Access installation.

But as soon as  Remote Access installation is completed NPS is here:

Q1) Neither an administrator nor Remote Access installation wizards were to add NPS - why have NPS got installed along with Remote Access?

As an administrator decided to use VPN authentication he/she should choose Windows Authentication in RRAS properties: