user input being passed to robocopy RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

What I'm trying to do - My dad has an external hard drive that he keeps at the bank as a disaster recovery for his personal files.  I want to have a batch file that will ask him what the drive letter is of the DRP external hard drive, because the drive letter could change due to different things plugged in, and pass that to the robocopy commands I'm using.  The first possible drive letter is F, and thought I would give it 5 possible option in order. (ie, F, G, H, I or J.)

Needless to say I'm not a programmer, and can do this with a set of copy commands for each input option, but think there has to be a way to use his input and only have one copy routine.

Thanks for any help you can give.
    Pat

Tuesday, February 12, 2013 1:14 AM

Answers

• Bill is right about the use of the environment variable, %Drv%, rather than the FOR statement's %%D variable in your copy command.

On the other problem related to the SET statement:  I failed to take note of the fact that jrv's PS statement contained two characters that cause problem in batch processes - the greater-than and less-than symbols.  These are used at the command prompt to indicate redirection, so using them in a simple string display requires they either be quoted or 'escaped'.  You figured out the quoting.  Here is the 'escaped' statement ...

set /p Drv=Please enter "F,G,H,I,J" and press ^<Enter^>?

Tom Lavedas

• Marked as answer by Pat3506 Thursday, February 14, 2013 11:51 PM
    • Unmarked as answer by Pat3506 Thursday, February 14, 2013 11:51 PM
    Wednesday, February 13, 2013 1:25 PM

All replies

• $drive=Read-Host 'Please enter "F,G,H,I,J" plus <enter>?'

http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/scriptcenter/dd793612.aspx

¯\_(ツ)_/¯

• Edited by jrv Tuesday, February 12, 2013 5:37 AM
    Tuesday, February 12, 2013 5:37 AM