Icon on thumbnail only works with videos RRS feed

• Question

• As a graphic artist I like to have my images and Adobe files set to thumbnail preview so I can visually locate the files I need. However, I will frequently have an Illustrator, Photoshop and PNG file that are identical in their thumbnail so being able to have an icon displayed on the thumbnail would be helpful in quickly identifying the format of each file.

I do have the "display file icon on thumbnails" turned on, but I only see this functioning properly for video files. When looking at image files, I also get the thumbnails but not the icons. If I turn off I get the icons for the images.

Something that has caught my attention is that the icon on the thumbnail for the videos is not the same icon you get when viewing the video with icons only. The icon on the videos is for WMP while the actual icon for the video files is C:\Windows\system32\wmploc.dll,-730 which is the white piece of paper with the text FLV at the bottom.

My guess is that this has something to do with the icon on the thumbnail being controlled differently than the actual icon for the file, but if anyone could enlighten me as to how to get thumbnails for images to show a custom icon I would appreciate it.

I'm running Windows 7 64-bit and I've already gone through the process of clearing my thumbnail cache.

Friday, September 6, 2013 3:13 AM

Answers

• Asking another IT person I know, they found this article, http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/windows/desktop/cc144118%28v=vs.85%29.aspx, that addresses how to accomplish showing a specific icon over a thumbnail.

So after setting up the TypeOverlay string in the registry for a .gif file, I exported the selected branch, cleared out everything but the branch path and the TypeOverlay entry, modified the extension and file name, and saved the registry entry as another file type.

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\SystemFileAssociations\.gif]