none
Sales Value and Rate RRS feed

• Question

• Hi all,

I'm new to PWA so hopefully you can guide and help me (while pardoning my ignorance! :)). When a project is created in PWA we set up a "Sales Value" for the project. Once the project plan is created and the estimated work for each task is entered, PWA works out the Actual and Projected Costs. This I presume is based on some Global or Project wide settings detailing the daily costs/rates. I would like to change these values for one of the projects.

For example, the site-wide/default daily rate is 550 (I have no idea however where this is saved?) so all the Sale Values for all the projects are correct. However for one of the projects the daily rate was 650. We've set the Sales Value for the project correctly but we would like to change it so that it knows of the new daily rate. Do you know where I can change this?

In addition to this, can you explain how the Actual / Projected Costs are worked out? I believe there is a site-wide/project setting that says that typically the daily resource cost rate is 380. 

Or if you can point me to article/document that can tell me this information?

Thanks in advance.

Kind regards

Sidharth

Wednesday, April 18, 2012 9:21 AM

Answers

• Hi Sidharth

I do not get with what you are referring as the "Sales Value" of the project.

And also, when the project plan is created and resources are assigned to the tasks then only the "Projected Cost" is calculated by the MSP, not the actual cost because actual cost will come while the project will be executed at a later stage.

And yes daily resource cost rate is calculated site-wide as you wrote. Thats correct

I think the following article may help you:-

http://office.microsoft.com/en-us/project-help/enter-costs-for-resources-HA101824727.aspx

Once the resources are having usage rates, the MSP will calculate the project cost as you assign the resources on the tasks.