none
How to save Project Server subprojects locally RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

I have a Master Plan in Project Server that contains ~70 subprojects that I would like to save locally on a regular basis.  When in Master Plan, I can click Save As File... but it only allows me to save the Master Plan locally - it doesnt automatically save all the subprojects.  Is it possible to save the subprojects automatically from the Master Plan?  Without having to open each subproject individually...

Details of our setup:
    Master Plan holding ~70 subprojects, it was all local before(shared data input via subversion) but we are now switching to Project Server.  I'd like to still keep our plans locally, under version control, due to the frequency of data corruption in MSProject.  Keeping the plans in subversion has saved our bacon many times in the past when someone has clicked the wrong thing and screwed the plans.  Maybe this is moot now that we're using Server...  

Thanks,
    Pat 

Friday, June 3, 2011 8:03 AM

Answers

• Like Amit pointed out, Server can keep versions of projects and can be configured under server settings -> schedule backup (in 2007). You get the option to configure how often a backup runs, and the number of versions to keep.