none
SCVMM 2012 P2V fails with Error (2931) RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

I have tried to run a P2V on 2 different servers with the same error below.  The scvmm server is in one domain and the servers I am trying to virtualize are in another I am a domain admin on both and there is no trust.  I have successfully virtualized a server in the same domain.  It gets to the "Make operating system virtualizable" and fails.  I don't see why the different domains should matter as I have done this a number of times with SCVMM 2008 but I thought I would point that out.  I have checked the firewall and DNS.  The second server I tried even though it is in another domain it is on the same network as the server that I have successfully converted.

Error (2931)
    VMM is unable to complete the request. The connection to the VMM agent on the virtualization server (CORP-WAIK.inet.syrres.com) was lost.
    Unknown error (0x80338029)

Recommended Action
    Ensure that the Windows Remote Management (WS-Management) service and the VMM agent are installed and running and that a firewall is not blocking HTTPS traffic. 

This can also happen due to DNS issues. Try and see if the server () is reachable over the network and can be looked up in DNS. You can ping the virtualization server from VMM management server and make sure that the IP address returned matches the IP address locally obtained from the virualization server. 

If the error still persists, restart the virtualiztion server, and then try the operation again.

Thanks

Dave

Thursday, April 26, 2012 1:56 PM

All replies

• Hi Dave,