none
Error Opening Sub-Domain in SNA Manager RRS feed

• Question

• I'm new to HIS and SNA but trying to configure HIS 2010 Client to connect to HIS 2006 Server. I've setup the Sponsor server to point to the HIS Server in common settings and have Run Resource location component as an application. I go ahead and start SNABase then go to SNAManager and the Sub-Domain to the same server I entered in Common Settings but I get Error Openning Sub-Domain. I've tried using the SNA Trace and every once in a while I get see something about the Invalid domain name len  32 . The only way I can  ping the HIS Server is with a full name DRFVHISD01.corpdev1.Domain.com.    I've tried it today but all I'm seeing is writting to snadump.log which is a binary file that I can't read. Any help is greatly appreciated. 

Santiago 

Santiago Perez Software Engineer
    Friday, August 12, 2011 3:31 PM

Answers

• Santiago,

I apologize for not responding sooner.

HIS Subdomain names are limited to 16 characters. If I try to enter a fully-qualified domain name for a HIS Server in SNA Manger by doing the following, the name gets truncated at 16 characters:

- Right-click Microsoft SNA Manager with the SNA Manager MMC snap-in
    - Click Open Subdomain
    - Select Remote SNA SubDomain and enter a name such as: HISSERVER.DOMAIN.CORP.COMPANY.COM

SNA Manager fails to connect to HISSERVER and is unable to open the configuration. This is because the name specified above is truncated at 16 characters.

You can try entering the TCP/IP address for the HIS 2006 Server as \\xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx in the "Remote SNA SubDomain" test box to see if that allows you to connect and open the configuration.

If I configure my HIS Client with a sponsor name of HISSERVER.DOMAIN.CORP.COMPANY.COM (for example), SnaBase will start and I can run SNA Manager and it opens the configuration for this subdomain.