none
Is BaseLining mandatory for Tracking Gantt in Project Server ? RRS feed

• Question

• Hello all,

I am new to Project Sever and I am feeling a bit uncomfortable with the usage of baselines. I just want a simple implementation where I will have my own custom defined Actual Task Start and Actual Task Finish to track the tasks. But is it possible to have a Tracking gantt chart using these custom fields in PWA ?

I found no OOTB options to set the dates to be looked for tracking in the gantt customization.

Please update me with this. If there is no other way, then I will go ahead with the Baselines.

Thanks,

Shanky

Wednesday, February 4, 2015 8:54 AM

Answers

• You might be right, I have no instance right now to test it, so I unfortunately have sometimes to recall my ancient memories and it might be wrong..

Thus I guess you will have to find a suitable workaround for you. For example, you could always save a Baseline in the Baseline "0" and in the Baseline n. Doing this, the tracking gantt will always display the latest Baseline.

• Day 1: first version of the plan, you save the Baseline 0 and 1.
    • Day 15: second version of the plan, you save the Baseline 0 and 2. Such you keep the first version of the plan and have the latest one in the tracking gantt through the Baseline 0.

The cons is that you will not be capable to create an interim plan. That being said, the PWA scheduling engine still has some limitations versus MS Project Pro, and choosing to use only PWA and not Project Pro should be a choice made on purpose and being willing to live with those few limitations.

Hope this helps,

Guillaume Rouyre, MBA, MVP, P-Seller |

• Marked as answer by shankyshan Wednesday, February 4, 2015 11:58 AM
    Wednesday, February 4, 2015 11:35 AM

All replies

• Hi Shanky,