none
How to schedule tasks sucessfully RRS feed

• Question

• I'm extremely new to using MS Project. I'm using MS Project 2010.

The way my tasks need to be scheduled are like this... I might have a task that says code anaysis and that task is extimated at 40 hours but it's stretched over 4 weeks. So 7/29 - 8/31.  However, when I enter my days 7/29-8/1 it pushes my hours out to 208 not 40. I assume I have to do something with the resource units but even when I do that it's not working 100%. Is there an easier way to accompilish this rather than have to touch each and every resource on each and every task to make this work?

Another wrinkle would be if I have a task that I assign two people to. The task could be 40 hours to complete and a 4 week duration but just because two people are doing the task the task may not be 20 hours each. I might just be two people working on a 40 hour task and one might end up doing 30 hours and the other 10. So it needs to be flexible.

Again, I am super new to project. I hope someone can help me.

Also, does anyone know of a good resource site i could use for helping myself?

Saturday, August 10, 2013 9:01 PM

All replies

• hshayhorn,

Welcome to the forum. If you have not installed the latest service pack for Project 2010 (SP2), install it now. You can get it at: http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/office/ee748587

There are lots of websites for Project information, but I don't know of any specific site that covers everything. If you are looking for on-line training, you might give MSProject experts at try at: http://www.msprojectexperts.com. Generally your best bet for specific questions is this forum. That's why we are here.