Mystery GAL entry sends to two users + public folders? RRS feed

• Question

• Hello.  I have recently taken over an SBS2008 server after the previous admin left.  No documentation exists for the configuration.  Within the GAL there is a contact for faxes, which delivers messages to two users as well as a folder in Public Folders.  Now I have worked with Exchange a bit, but I'm no expert.  Within Outlook, this entry has an icon resembling a little yellow card or folder, with a little envelope on it.  I cannot for the life of me figure out how the previous guy set this up.  It's somehow different than the other distribution lists I have discovered.  Does anyone know what I'm talking about?  The point is this: I need to remove one of the recipients, and I cannot find a way to edit this contact.

Thanks in advance to anyone who can assist.

-JC

Monday, August 8, 2011 3:46 PM

Answers

• Hello Justin,

Small yellow card with an envelope on it in Outlook GAL points to a mail enabled public folder.
    I am not sure about SBS2008, but in the Exchange 2007 environment you can open the Exchange Management Console, then go to "Tools". There you will find the Public Folders Management Console where you can add column showing whether folders are mail enabled or not. Open the properties of that public folder (you know the name from your GAL) and check under "Mailflow Settings" -> "Delivery options" if there is some forwarding activated?
    I suppose there is a distribution group behind, so that an email sent to this particular public folder will be forwarded to additional recipients.

Have a good luck
    Eduard

Tuesday, August 9, 2011 7:47 AM

All replies

• If the wizards are used to create the groups in SBS, then it also asked if you want to create an archive. A corresponding public folder is then created and added as a member of the distribution group.

Simon.

Simon Butler, Exchange MVP
    Blog | Exchange Resources | In the UK? Hire Me.