none
MDT 2013 update 1 Application Installation Script RRS feed

• Question

• I'm having difficulty installing applications with MDT. I am fairly new to using this tool and it seems to require a lot of scripting knowledge which I am trying to learn.

When I can get a .msi file, I haven't had any problem running a silent install. However, .exe files are giving me trouble.

The setup.exe app I am working with on my test of MDT deployment is the Firefox browser. I am trying to deploy it to Windows 10. It returns an error to me as follows:

"Application Mozilla Firefox returned an unexpected return code: 2"

Here's what I have tried:

1. I have created a new application in MDT, using both the 'Application with Source Files' selection and the 'Application without Source Files or elsewhere over the network' option.

2. In the working directory, I have tried .\Applications\"Mozilla Firefox", or have tried other file paths where I have the setup.exe located.

3. After creating the application in MDT, I have created an installation task sequence, selecting only to install one application and pointing it to the MDT Firefox Application I created.

4. The actual command. This is where I think I may be having my trouble. I have tried numerous commands:

FirefoxSetupStub42.0.exe -ms

FirefoxSetupStub42.0.exe /INI=<file path of the ini I created>

<whole directory path to the setup.exe>\FirefoxSetupStub42.0.exe -ms

<whole directory path to the setup.exe>\FirefoxSetupStub42.0.exe /INI=<file path of the ini I created>

5. I have also tried a resource I found that uses a .cmd file which pulls from a .ini for custom settings, a .js, .css, .cfg, etc. This was a SCCM resource so I wasn't sure if it would work with MDT, but I gave it a try.

With this, I copied all these files (.cmd, .cfg, .js, .css, the setup.exe, etc.) all to the working directory and out the command to direct to the .CMD file. I have the .CMD file script posted below.