none
Win 10 pro EFS Encrypting File System Problem (Dell) RRS feed

• Question

• Hello

I have a strange problem with EFS, which I have never used before, but it doesn't seem to be working correctly. New Dell computer bought with 7 pro and upgraded to 10 pro last weekend. I didn't think to try EFS before the upgrade as I only used the machine for 2 days before switching.

No matter what I do, I can't get the folders to encrypt even though they turn green. The files will encrypt OK but they are visible to anyone clicking on the green folder and they will even open the correct application but with no usable data. Like a HTML file will open a browser, pictures open a viewer, audio opens a player, etc....ect.

I was thinking it could be a bug but I'm not finding any other information on the net about this issue. I'm testing this by switching accounts on the same machine. I will take an encrypted folder into work tomorrow and see how it acts on different machines. I even tried making multiple layers of empty folders but the files are still visible and can be clicked on.

Thanks in advance... 

---------------------------------------------------------------------

I originally posted the above at the Microsoft Community Forum but was directed here if the problem wasn't resolved. I was asked to open Services and set EFS to Automatic but it was already set there and the application was running.

Sunday, August 30, 2015 9:46 PM

Answers

• Hang on.... encryption does actually "hide" the folder (or the files in that folder, for that matter).  They are still visible, but it makes the files unusable to anyone other than the owner.

So yes, the system will attempt to open the encrypted files with whatever program is associated with that file extension, but they will fail.

So far, what you're talking about is normal behavior...  so tell us more if I'm incorrect.

• Marked as answer by FaltaCZ Monday, August 31, 2015 2:03 PM
    Sunday, August 30, 2015 10:02 PM

All replies