none
DPM 2012 Tape Co-location Options (Media Pools) RRS feed

• Question

• Hello;

i am new to this product & started working from DPM 2012 version. i need your comments, ideas for below mentioned Scenario.

Product version: DPM 2012 with windows 2008 R2 OS.

Backup Method: Disk to Disk daily & weekly Duplicate on Tape.

i know Symantec backup exec product with feature set Media Pools, but in DPM 2012 i am stuck with Media Pools (Advanced Tape-Colocation option). i want weekly data to backup on tape till the tape gets full & it should protect till 2 months (appendable). Secondly i have around 6 Protection group with different protection level on disk, also i want that all protection group should go in one tape when weekly backup starts to get the full capacity of tape space & avoid consuming more tapes.

Thanks & Best Regards;

Wednesday, November 28, 2012 8:54 AM

Answers

• Hi Parkaj,

DPM as a product is quiet flexible when it comes to backing up data to tapes. So let's take this step by step :

1) While setting up the Protection Groups in DPM, the long term protection (to Tape) needs to be specified as 2 months (8 Weeks).

2) Once the protection groups have been setup and tape co-location has been enabled, we will have to specify the following settings :

a) On the console - Choose the option of Tape Optimization.

b) We will need to create a group here and choose the Protection Groups which we need to co-locate.

c) Once done, uncheck the box which reads - Don't allow backups of different retention periods to co-locate on the same tape (IF THE PROTECTION GROUPS HAVE DIFFERENT LONG TERM RETENTION PERIOD).

d) To be able to write more on a single tape, we will have to edit the Write Period and Expirey Tolerance parameters. To be able to do so, click on the Advanced button under the Check box mentioned above.