Filters - Analytic Charts vs. SSRS RRS feed

• Question

• I'm new to PPS and I'm attempting to combine Analytic Chart and SSRS reports on a single dashboard with common filters. The dashboard is being deployed to a SharePoint site.

I'm using SSRS for the Dundas Gauges included in SSRS 2008 and Analytic Charts for the easy chart creation and many runtime functions (drill-down, change report type, ...).

Here's my problem:

I create an Analytic Chart with background dimensions that I would like to filter on. One of these is 'Country'. I then create a 'Country' filter on the dashboard using the same dimension and select 'All' as the default value (no filtering by country). This works very well and the filter displays 'All' when I'm not filtering (that's easy for the end-user to understand).

Now I create a SSRS report and would like to use the same dashboard filter. I add a Country paramenter to my report and give it the following settings (allow blank values, allow multiple values).
    In the dataset associated with the gauge control, I add the 'Country' dimension to the dataset and I add a filter on the last tab ( 'Filters') of the dataset properties. The filter has the following values:
        Expression: [COUNTRY]
        Operator: In
        Value: [@Country]

When I execute the SSRS report from SharePoint (I have the show parameters option selected), there is no value in the 'Country' parameter and the report doesn't execute. The Country filter is showing 'All'.

Please help.

Thanks,
    Dan

Wednesday, February 11, 2009 8:58 PM

Answers