Trying to test stuff... Cannot launch sequenced app on a computer with the client installed RRS feed

• Question

• Hey everyone, I'm pretty new to virtualizing applications, and definitely new to MDOP and APP-V, but we are testing applications for our company and I can't figure out what's going on here.

I've sequenced a few applications, let’s start with Google Earth 4.1. I've got a VM running that I sequenced the app on, and a completely separate computer that I've got nothing but the basics and the Desktop Client installed on. I run the MSI file generated by sequencing the app on the computer with the client installed, it runs through the installer with no problems, but when I try to launch the application it says there's no connection to the server, which is absolutely right because we don't have a server setup anywhere yet as we are still testing.

Now all of that is fine and dandy, except my coworker is able to run the MSI and successfully launch the application without any problems (Meaning, no server issues like I see on my client computer).

Can someone please let me know what I need to do in order to avoid building out a server just yet so we can go through our 100+ applications, sequence, and test each of them?

Thanks so much for your help. I'm sure this is going to be something simple, but I've looked and I can't seem to find anything.

Thanks again!

-Duane

Wednesday, September 29, 2010 2:27 PM

Answers

• Here's an example SFTMIME command that works:

SFTMIME ADD PACKAGE:"Microsoft_Office_2010_x64_084154.001" /MANIFEST "\\\VBOXSVR\Packages\Microsoft Office\2010_x64\000\Microsoft_Office_2010_x64_084154.001_manifest.xml" /OVERRIDEURL "\\\VBOXSVR\Packages\Microsoft Office\2010_x64\000\Microsoft_Office_2010_x64_084154.001.sft" /GLOBAL /CONSOLE

Confirm that the location of the SFT file is available to all users including the local system. I'm not sure what the device not ready issue is, but the first place to go is the App-V client log.