none
can't remove computer from DPM

Question

• Hello,

I'm relatively new to DPM so hopefully this question has a simple answer.

I'm trying to clear a warning in my DPM.  Prior to my tenure here, a server was decommissioned without it being removed from DPM.  The warning is "Agent not reachable" (because the server isn't here anymore).  If I go to the Protection section, highlight "All Protection Groups", and sort by computer, it isn't there.  I've been through this section with a fine tooth comb, and I can't find it.

However, if I go to the Management section, right-click the server and choose "Remove", it tells me I can't do anything until I remove all protected members on the associated computers from protection groups.  I've disabled protection and it shows as disabled, but I can't clear the warning permanently.  It always comes back.

I tried a Powershell script I found online, but it essentially gives me the same error.

Is there something I'm missing?

Thanks,

Zachary Hamilton

Friday, May 10, 2019 7:18 PM

Answers

All replies

• Hello Zachary,

If DPM agents are not removed from the DPM console, they will indeed have the status "Agent not reachable".

With the GUI you cannot do much, but with the DPM Shell (PowerShell) you can, run the command below to remove the agent:

Remove-ProductionServer.ps1

Then you need to enter the name of the DPM server, and finally enter the name of the agent computer that you want to be removed.

Once done, close the DPM console and start it up again, and the agent should be gone.

Best regards,
    Leon

Blog: https://thesystemcenterblog.com LinkedIn:

Saturday, May 11, 2019 1:30 PM
  • Hi Leon,

Thanks for your response.  Unfortunately, that is the Powershell script I found.  I even tried "Run as Administrator".  Here's what happens:

WARNING: Connecting to DPM server: sdovpdpm201.mydomain.net
    There is failure while removing production server
    C:\Program Files\Microsoft System Center 2012