Access 32 bit and AutoCAD 64 bit, VBA RRS feed

• Question

• I have a VBA application for AutoCAD that I have been developing since 2001 that updates a Microsoft Access 2002/2003 format database ".mdb" file (which still works in 2010).  Since AutoCAD has updated to a 64 bit VBA, I can no longer connect to these Access database files.  Since this program is very complex, re-writing it will take time, plus, I need to be able to use computers that still have 32 bit AutoCAD and Access 2002 so this is not really an option right now.  I am using DAO, but the way the program was written, updating to ADO is not a huge problem.  Is there a connectstring that will help me?  Or maybe some DLL I need to download.  Note: I am an Electrical Engineer doing programming out of necessity, not a high level programmer.
    Tuesday, May 20, 2014 2:59 PM

All replies

• All you have to do is re-declare any libraries you have used in the code to handle 64 bit coding. This involves mainly using PtrSafe declarations.

Happy to help ! When you see answers and helpful posts, please click Vote As Helpful, Propose As Answer, and/or Mark As Answered

Tuesday, May 20, 2014 4:27 PM
  • Hi,

According to your description, you are developing VBA application for AutoCAD. party application. About connecting to Access database files in AutoCAD, I suggest you posting in AutoCAD official VBA forum or VBA forum for more efficient responses.

Thanks.

We are trying to better understand customer views on social support experience, so your participation in this interview project would be greatly appreciated if you have time. Thanks for helping make community forums a great place.
    Click HERE to participate the survey.

Tuesday, May 27, 2014 8:13 AM