none
Exchange 2010 with multiple domains and disabling autodiscover for one of them

Question

• Hello - I'm an Exchnage newbie and have the following issue - we have an Exchange 2010 server accepting mail for multiple domains and want to migrate one of them to O365. I found that if you:

Set-ClientAccessServer –Identity “CASxx” –AutoDiscoverServiceInternalUri $NULL   

you're essentially removing the on-premises information with regard to Autodiscover; thus eliminating the conflict that your end users are experiencing between the O365 autodiscover and the on-premises one.

Does this ps command disable AutoDiscover for ALL the domains?

How would you remove AutoDiscover for just 1 of them?

I do have a CNAME record pointing to autodiscover.outlook.com in DNS for this domain.

• Edited by JoeatApex Friday, March 18, 2016 4:07 PM
    Friday, March 18, 2016 4:00 PM

Answers

• Thanks to all for your replies. I discovered adding the following registry entries in regedit fixes this issue and Outlook now points externally to O365 as mentioned:

HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Office\12.0 14.0 for Outlook 2010\Outlook\AutoDiscover

• Edited by JoeatApex Wednesday, March 23, 2016 9:45 PM
    • Marked as answer by JoeatApex Wednesday, March 23, 2016 9:46 PM
    Wednesday, March 23, 2016 9:44 PM

All replies

• That removes the Autodiscover URL for all connections by domain-joined computers connecting from the local network or by VPN.  I'm not sure whether Outlook will then try the standard set of external client Autodiscover URLs afterward.

I'm not sure why you think you need to do this.  All the domains' clients need to look to your Exchange server for Autodiscover, no?

Ed Crowley MVP "There are seldom good technological solutions to behavioral problems."
    Celebrating 20 years of providing Exchange peer support!

Friday, March 18, 2016 5:28 PM
  • Ed - thank you for your prompt response.