none
Windows Server Essentials Connector stops responding during install Win 7 Pro to 2012 R2 RRS feed

• Question

• I am trying to reconnect a Win 7 Pro computer to a new  Essentials 2012R2 and when it asks me to set it up for just me or multiple users a message pops up saying it has stopped responding. It sets up a profile of _clientsetup_$ and it shows up in dashboard as an offline device. This computer was hooked up to an Essentials 2012R2 previously. Tried uninstalling the connector software, removing the computer from the domain, renaming the computer and re-installing the connector software from the http://(server)/connect. Even tried backing up the existing profiles and creating a new clean one and went through the above procedure with the same results. I set up 4 others with no issues and it would be the bosses computer that fails. I am a newbie so any help would be greatly appreciated, thanks.

Monday, January 5, 2015 6:27 PM

All replies

• I'd suggest check the log under %Programdata%\Microsoft\Windows Server\Logs\ClientDeploy.log to see if any finding there. Or you might want to zip the entire folder and give us a share somewhere.
    Tuesday, January 6, 2015 7:55 AM
  • Hi,

Sorry for my interrupting.

Would you please let us know whether this problematic client computer was upgraded to Windows 7 Pro from a previous OS? Did you install any third-party application on this Windows 7 Pro client computer? Just a confirmation, thanks for your understanding.

Best regards,

Justin Gu

Please remember to mark the replies as answers if they help and unmark them if they provide no help. If you have feedback for TechNet Support, contact tnmff@microsoft.com.

Tuesday, January 6, 2015 9:28 AM
  • I found the log and I can zip it but I have no idea where to share it, any suggestions.
    Tuesday, January 6, 2015 4:05 PM