custom dashboard - list - views RRS feed

• Question

• MOSS 2007:

I'm working for a firm who has given me a job in their sharepoint team.
    I'm not a beginner in sharepoint moss but i'm neither a expert.

But this task i have been given is " make this spreadsheet online in Sharepoint" !!
    They hate excel so they will swing from using a lot of spreadsheet to just using sharepoint for their works

Hmm

The workflow is

A form which is public for the inspector
    Some of the data in this form should be generated (from diffent dropdowns) when the user start using it
    The value of the data should come from a SQL Server

The form were user can input some data - save. It must be possible to save the work and proceed later.
    The user should use it for inspection data. He fill the data in and save it

I guess it's a webpart i should program.

Another department should be able to monitoring, edit, add, generate some report/views/list.This is not public
    They should be able to add/edit/delete values in the dropdowns as i mentioned before.
    How to do that. A webpart for every dropdown?

The view should work Like a dashboard but its different from a normal dashboard in sharepoint.
    The views should show some data in a list (not exel, pdf or word but raw data), based on the input from the user

Sorting the columns is allso a must. A total summarize list is default. (ex. show total errors during an inspection, total inspections etc.)

There will be some chart display

Does the solution had to be hardcoded or can sharepoint help me?

By the way - How can i import the spreadsheet to SQL. Is there a easy way?
    Do I have to make the database first and then import?

The serialnumber for the item in a inspection have both letters and digits. ex. cv-2340-11
    I like to use the serialnumber (its uniq) for the primary key in the database.
    Is that a problem?

And in the near future other devices could be implemented ex. Tablets and smartphone.