none
Trying to export then import existing VM - "encountered error during import operation"

Question

• Hello,

I'm very new to Hyper-V and have had the task of "cloning" an existing VM we have in use.  From the Hyper-V management console, I have successfully (i think) exported the VM that I want to replicate, but then receive the following unhelpful error message when walking through the 'Import Virtual Machine' wizard.. 

"Hyper-V encountered an error during import operation"

I receive this after walking through the entire wizard, selecting the VM to import (the one I exported), and selecting destinations for the new VM files.

Any help is greatly appreciated as this is a critical business and time sensitive issue for me.

Environment:

Windows 2012 R2

Exported and Imported VM all live on the same physical machine.

I have multiple VMs running on this machine and I have NOT turned off any of them during the import.  Everything is running.

K

• Edited by captkirk35 Friday, January 13, 2017 10:30 PM
    Friday, January 13, 2017 10:09 PM

All replies

• What are the options you are selecting when Importing?

There has to be more details in there.  What is in the Hyper-V specific event logs?  Did you try Compare-VM?

http://itproctology.blogspot.com/2012/08/handling-import-vm-errors-in-server.html

Also, beginning with 2012, you can copy the entire VM folder and simply import.  You now longer need to export then import.

Brian Ehlert
    http://ITProctology.blogspot.com
    Learn. Apply. Repeat.

Friday, January 13, 2017 10:44 PM
  • Not seeing anything in the Hyper-V event log around the time of my attempts to import, other something with an earlier time stamp.  (image below)

As for options during the import, I select the location where the export was placed.

Doing so finds the "App2" VM (image below)

Then I select 'Copy the virtual Machine (create a new unique ID) option

I choose a folder destination for each of the files (image below)