none
Get username that deletes a file RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I've followed some examples about monitoring file changes using powershell.

I want to monitor a folder where lots of users has modify access. Some times files are deleted that should not be deleted, so i wanted to monitor when files are deleted. The script then updates a .txt log file and sends a mail to the admins of the shared folder. I don't want mails or log entrys when a temporary office file is deleted, so i've tried to filter it with IF/ELSE. I could not get the $watcher.filter to do what i wanted, but that might be cause i'm a powershell rookie.

Now this all works very fine and all, but what would top things of was i there is a way to get the username of the user causing the filesystem change.

Is that possible?

Tuesday, September 18, 2012 10:59 AM

Answers

• Hi,

I want to monitor a folder where lots of users has modify access. Some times files are deleted that should not be deleted, so i wanted to monitor when files are deleted. The script then updates a .txt log file and sends a mail to the admins of the shared folder. I don't want mails or log entrys when a temporary office file is deleted, so i've tried to filter it with IF/ELSE. I could not get the $watcher.filter to do what i wanted, but that might be cause i'm a powershell rookie.

Now this all works very fine and all, but what would top things of was i there is a way to get the username of the user causing the filesystem change.

Is that possible?

You should be using fie auditing.  This wil capture all deletions only to teh eventlog along with user information.  It is foolish to try and do it with a script.

OPen the security wizard for teh folder in question and select advanced and click th eaudit tab.  FOllow the instructions.