Backup to tape failed RRS feed

• Question

• DMP 2010

Tape device: Quantum SuperLoader 3

Hi there,

I am new with DPM. recently I received the alert below:

"Backup to tape failed"

When I look at "View Detailed Errors", I can see the message below:

DPM could not reserve the drive resource because one of the required drive resources is not online or it needs cleaning or servicing, (ID 24052)

I found the instruction below to find which drive needs to be clean

http://blogs.technet.com/b/dpm/archive/2012/02/22/dpm-tape-jobs-take-longer-than-expected-or-fail-with-id-24052.aspx

But when I run it the output tells me no drive need to be clean.

Please help

Thank you in advance for your time

Alex

Wednesday, February 6, 2013 3:52 PM

All replies

• Hi,

Please download and run the DPMtapeLibraryCompatibilityChecker tool from the following link.

https://skydrive.live.com/?cid=885774776d4f197a&sc=documents&id=885774776D4F197A%21128

For tape library
    ================

Run the following command to list the libraries attached to the system:

DPMLibraryTest.exe /Certify /LL

Run the following command, where \\.\Changer# is the symbolic name of the tape library to test from the output of the /LL command.

DPMLibraryTest.exe /CERTIFY /TL \\.\Changer0 /ST 1 2 4 5

Description of the tests.

Test 1: Basic Configuration
    This test will scan your system for attached devices. It will identify the libraries and the stand-alone drives attached to your system and give you a summary of what it finds. For each device, you will see a Device Name, Serial Number, Vendor Name, Product Name, Firmware Revision and SCSI properties.
    At the end of this test, the user must verify whether all the information as seen by the tool. If the information is incorrect, check the following:
    • Check if all the devices are listed in Device Manager.
    • Ensure that the drivers for the devices are up-to-date.