none
Failed to create users when install software on RODC

Question

• Hi,

I recently put together a Read-Only Active Directory server for my company.  The RODC is replicating from the master AD.  I was installing a monitoring agent to all AD servers for monitoring and I was able to install the software on all the Read/Write AD servers.  When I tried to install that on my RODC server, it kept telling me "Failed to create user". 

I checked the users it's trying to create in AD and found there are two users been created in my other read/write ADs and replicated over to the RODC server.  Since this is a Read-Only server, how do I install the software that requires users to be created on the server?

I am very new to windows AD, any helps will be very much appreciated.

Harry

Friday, April 7, 2017 8:30 PM

All replies

• You cannot create users on the RODC, thats why it is a read only domain controller. Talk to the software vendor whether they have the need to install it on an RODC and workarounds.
    • Proposed as answer by Kim Lee Sunday, April 9, 2017 1:34 PM
    Saturday, April 8, 2017 4:41 PM
  • Hi Harry,
    The database on an RODC is read only. Applications can only read data from the directory when they target an RODC; they cannot write data in the directory. All read and write operations are possible on a writable domain controller.
    You could view the detail differences between an RODC and a writable domain controller from: https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc771545(v=ws.10).aspx
    Best regards, 
    Wendy

Please remember to mark the replies as answers if they help.
    If you have feedback for TechNet Subscriber Support, contact tnmff@microsoft.com

Tuesday, April 11, 2017 6:34 AM
  • Thanks all for the reply!

I created an local account on the RODC server and still failed.  Looks like there is no other way to go around it.

Wednesday, April 12, 2017 5:10 PM
  • Hi,