none
New SSD - Enabling BitLocker Defaults to Hardware Encryption Mode RRS feed

• Question

• This is my first time using an SSD drive for my laptop, so would like to ask the question below:

Just got a new Crucial MX500 2.5 inch SSD internal drive for my laptop. I enabled BitLocker and the MANAGE-BDE -STATUS shows that BitLocker is using Hardware Encryption. Why is this? The package does not even state that it’s an encrypted SSD. I am so confused.

How can I disable this and use BitLocker the way I used to which was in Software Encryption mode?

Thanks!

• Edited by AS.Bowen Sunday, October 21, 2018 12:12 PM
    Sunday, October 21, 2018 7:05 AM

All replies

• By default, if the drive allows it, bitlocker will use hardware encryption, because it has better performance. What is your problem with it? Most modern SSDs support hardware encryption out of the box, as you can see.
    Sunday, October 21, 2018 1:51 PM
  • Thanks for the quick response.

Well, for now, I need to use BitLocker the way I used to before. That's all. Until my decision is reached, I need to use BitLocker in Software Encryption mode. I disabled BitLocker and then set the following Group Policy: Configure use of hardware-based encryption for operating system drives= DISABLED

I re-enabled BitLocker again, and this time seems to be Software based encryption again according to MANAGE-BDE -STATUS. Hopefully, I did not have to reinstall Windows 10 for this change? Please confirm this.

Another question if I decide to use BitLocker with Hardware Encryption mode for my SSD down the road, I noticed this also relies on the TPM. So my question is, suppose for example I do some major UEFI Firmware upgrade or major changes in the firmware, or do some major hardware upgrades on my laptop, will BitLocker be in Recovery Mode even when using the SSD in Hardware Encryption mode?

Another question, will SSD Hardware-based encryption with BitLocker still exposes the chances of a DMA or Cold Boot attacks?