Frustrated - Black screen (with movable cursor) after login in Windows 8. Just started happening out of blue RRS feed

• Question

• I have been running Windows 8 for seven months now with NO issues. All of a sudden this morning after logging in, all I see is a solid black screen. But the cursor is visible and I can move it around with the mouse.

When I press CTRL-ALT-DELETE I see the four options appear, including the Task Manager. When I click on Task Manager it doesn't appear, but I can see the mouse pointer change from an arrow to the round circle like it's loading briefly.

The only options I could click on that actually did anything was "Lock Computer" or "Restart". If I click lock, it goes back to the color welcome screen. If I click restart, it restarts ok, but that's it.

I've restarted a dozen times trying to get into safe mode to no avail (did they remove safe mode in windows 8?!?).

Somehow I was able to get it to go into a "Restore Mode" ONE time, and it restored my PC to an earlier time. I restarted the computer after the restore and same issue.

Next I thought it may be a video card issue, so I swapped out the video card with a different model. That didn't work. I even removed the PCI-E video card completely and used the motherboard's built-in VGA port. Same thing. Everything comes on, but after typing in my password, nothing but a black screen.

What's frustrating is that I can see the FULL COLOR Windows 8 welcome screen. It's only after typing in the password that I get the black screen. So I highly doubt it's a physical video card issue.

I've searched everywhere for a answer, and nobody has a clear solution to this issue, but it seems to be a very common issue with Windows 8. My he computer has been running fine for 7+ months now with no issues, and nothing has changed recently to my knowledge.

To summarize:

• I've ruled out the video card being an issue
    • restored the PC to earlier time