MDT2013 - Move Computer from one main OU to specified application OU error: Incorrect function. (Error:00000001;source:Windows) RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I am new to MDT in general and totally new to MDT2013 and need helps please.

Our existing MDT 2013 system is setup to build computer to main OU where all the rules has been relax. ie. almost free of restrictions. it is done form the rules of the deployment share

there are different type of servers hence changing the master OU where MDT join and place the computer will affect all the build. My server build is specific to an application hence I want to move the server to its OU where I got customised GPO setup for it and I want to do it as a task sequence specifically setup for it

I setup a task sequence running as a command line to execute a powershell script and run as an admin account that has the privilege to this moving computer to another OU. (I proved that the script is working by logging on to the server locally with the same admin account and run the script and it worked fine)

however, when run it with MDT, the task failed with this error:  Incorrect function. (Error:00000001;source:Windows). The execution of the group (groupname) has failed and the execution has been aborted. An action failed. Operation aborted (Error:8004004;Source:Windows). Task Sequence Engine failed! code:enExecutionFail. Task sequence execution failed with error code 8004005...

May I have some helps with this please?

Thanks

BeTrai

here is my script to move the OU: ( I ran it with Set-ExecutionPolicy Bypass)

$servername = "$env:COMPUTERNAME"

$targetOU = "OU=APPName, OU=Application,OU=Servers, DC=XYX,DC=ABC,DC=DEF"

$serverDistinguishedName = (Get-ADComputer $servername).DistinguishedName

Move-ADObject $serverDistinguishedName -TargetPath $targetOU 

Friday, February 20, 2015 1:40 PM

All replies

• Hi,