none
Inserting Subprojects as "Read-Only" RRS feed

• Question

• In MS2010, I've inserted a subproject (Install Foundation) into a (Build a House) master project (both files in the same folder) as a "read-only" insertion.  Once I did that, I linked a predecessor task (design foundation) in the master project to a successor task (mobilize) in the subproject, and then linked a predecessor subtask (remove forms) back to a successor task (erect first floor) in the master project. I find that when I make changes to the visible (read-only) subproject tasks those changes are allowed and passed through to the subproject.  

This is my first time trying to link and use subprojects and I guess I was not expecting to be able to change any data related to the subproject from WITHIN the master project, since it was entered as "read-only".  Is this supposed to be able to happen?

Thanks,

Bill

Tuesday, August 7, 2018 3:03 PM

Answers

• Hi Bill, much like opening a word document in Read-only, you can change the content, but you will find you cannot save the file with the same name.

Ben Howard [MVP] | web | blog | book | downloads | P2O

Tuesday, August 7, 2018 3:37 PM
  • Bill,

In addition to Ben's straightforward explanation let me add some relevant information about linked structures in Project, since this is your first foray into that "realm".

Linked structures in Project are fragile and prone to corruption if not managed properly. Do not rename, move, overwrite or "save off" to a different location any of the files in the linked structure. Ideally all files should reside in a single directory on a local drive and not be operated over a network. Adding inter-project links between tasks raises the chance for corruption since it creates a secondary link structure (i.e. master/subproject and inter-project links).