locked
When a document try to open from Sharepoint portal, we get the following pop-up prompt box from Word RRS feed

  • Question

  • Hi Team,

     I am maintaining the word document in sharepoint portal,

    if the two users are accessing the same document at same time, for the second user are getting "this document not available now already some user is opened"  if you need to work please store in local copy and continue to work, when the server document is available it will merge. so document is maintain in local system, when the user is try access again same document in server it is merging with orginal document in sharepoint portal but some time users personal setting and customization(Custom Tabs) are missing, so we need to disable this merge option in word document. could you suggest me, how to resolve this in MS word and how to disable this merge option.

    • Moved by Mike Walsh FIN Wednesday, September 7, 2011 12:28 PM Amend *Word* parameters isn't something for a SharePoint forum, but otherwise it is in any case an admin question not general (From:SharePoint - General Question and Answers and Discussion (pre-SharePoint 2010))
    Wednesday, September 7, 2011 11:28 AM

Answers

  • Hi pbkbaskaran,

    In general, if someone else make changes to a file before you update it on the server, the program prompts you either to merge the two sets of changes when you update the file on the server, or to specify which version of the file you want to keep.

    To prevent others from making changes to a file, you can check out the file before you work on it. Go to settings->Document Library settings->Version settings, check Require document to be checked out before they can be edited to Yes. Check whether it works.

    Thanks,
    Qiao Wei

    • Proposed as answer by Rashu,Rahul Monday, September 12, 2011 4:35 AM
    • Marked as answer by Qiao WeiModerator Thursday, September 15, 2011 2:25 PM
    Friday, September 9, 2011 7:13 AM
    Moderator

All replies

  • "sharepoint portal" - so can we assume you are using SharePoint Portal Server 2003 ?

     

    Moderator


    SP 2010 "FAQ" (mainly useful links): http://wssv4faq.mindsharp.com/default.aspx
    WSS3/MOSS FAQ (FAQ and Links) http://wssv3faq.mindsharp.com/default.aspx
    Both also have links to extensive book lists and to (free) on-line chapters
    Wednesday, September 7, 2011 12:26 PM
  • We are using the MOSS 2007.

    Wednesday, September 7, 2011 12:45 PM
  • Hi pbkbaskaran,

    In general, if someone else make changes to a file before you update it on the server, the program prompts you either to merge the two sets of changes when you update the file on the server, or to specify which version of the file you want to keep.

    To prevent others from making changes to a file, you can check out the file before you work on it. Go to settings->Document Library settings->Version settings, check Require document to be checked out before they can be edited to Yes. Check whether it works.

    Thanks,
    Qiao Wei

    • Proposed as answer by Rashu,Rahul Monday, September 12, 2011 4:35 AM
    • Marked as answer by Qiao WeiModerator Thursday, September 15, 2011 2:25 PM
    Friday, September 9, 2011 7:13 AM
    Moderator