MDT media and usb key size RRS feed

• Question

• I was wondering if it is ok to manually delete from my usb key a folder located in the key (MDT\Media Key\Content\Deploy\Operating  System\XXXX.) I have 4 folders in here which I believe I need only 3 to boot and image remotely all my different models and needed Applications.  My media is just a bit too large to fit on my key. I believe I have selected the least amount of options in the media properties for this key to be useful to my remote sights.  

I am self taught with MDT so a complicated explanation may confuse me. I apologize for any ignorance or poor terminology. 

Thank you for your assistance or suggestions,

WafflesCa

Monday, September 26, 2016 4:12 PM

Answers

• 3 is what I need, each applies to a specific set of needs or my two task sequences. I know it's awkward, but I took this over from another person and that is how it was set up. So if the 4th is obsolete. can I manually delete the 4th image/wim folder from my media folder and not have it affect/effect my ubs key remote imaging?

If the 4th is not needed or a TS is not pointed to it sure delete it. Going forward I would look at bring your image count down to 1. Question what is so different about these multiple images/TS that it can't be 1 and controlled by WMI or likewise, you will same yourself a lot of headaches and administrative task down the road. Just my 2 cents :)

If this post is helpful please click "Mark for answer", thanks! Kind regards

• Marked as answer by wafflesCA Monday, September 26, 2016 6:23 PM
    Monday, September 26, 2016 5:41 PM

All replies

• How many images do you have? As you should only need 1 to be able to deploy to all systems

Monday, September 26, 2016 4:30 PM