none
Hidden Startup Application RRS feed

• Question

• I'm new to SysInternals. On my Windows 10 Pro (64) system, about a week ago, I noticed an application in my Startup named -HIDE. It's disabled but I'm trying to determine what is is and remove it. I don't think it should be there.

I use ESET Endpoint Protection and I'm not seeing anything unusual on the System other than the LED's on my network switch appear to show alot of activity at times when I'm not doing anything.

I've monitored my Temp folder C:\Users\XX\AppData\Local\Temp and noticed the following logs keep getting written to it daily. I'm not sure if they are related to the hidden app in startup or not.

I've noticed the following log files that keeps getting created in my temp folder named
    bitrock_installer.log
    mat-debug-17532.log 

I've deleted all files from the temp folder, but these continue to be created every time I restart. 

These files are generated multiple times a day with different numerical section of the file name.

I checked Task Manager, search the registry, services, Event Viewer, Program files, Program Files (86) and Program Data folders for the word HIDE or other unexpected name, but i haven't found anything.

I'm assuming Process Explorer is the best tool to use for investigating this issue. I haven';t used it yet. Please provide your opinion on how best to proceed.

Thanks,

Tony

Tony

Monday, June 29, 2020 5:28 PM

All replies

• In this specific case, the best tool is ProcMon.

You should capture a Procmon boot log, and you will see who will generate those file from a clean boot, where the exe creating them is and at that point if it is legitimate or not...

Start Procmon as administrator, options, Enable boot logging, reboot..

When you are again logged in start again ProcMon as Administrator.. it will say to you there is a bootlog to save..Save and analyze it.. you will find it very educational..

HTH
    -mario

Monday, June 29, 2020 8:22 PM