User to administer site access RRS feed

• Question

• I am relatively new to administering a SharePoint site collection and creating small team sites for our business department.  New SharePoint team sites are always created using unique permissions and the default 'members', 'owners' and 'visitors' groups.  I am always a member of the 'owners' group, the team leader is a member of the 'members' group and other users are either 'members' or 'visitors' as required.  The 'owners' group, to which I belong is the owner of the other two security groups and is enabled to edit membership in them. I would like to have the team leader administer new users to the 'members' and 'visitors' groups of their sites - yet do not want to put the team leader in the 'owners' group with me (and granting them too many permissions beyond what they need).  Could I get feedback regarding the following solution?  Thank you in advance,

Proposed solution:

1. In addition to the default 'members','owners', and 'visitor' groups, create a fourth user group with the same permissions as 'members' (let's call it 'TeamLead').  The owners group which I belong to will be the owner of the 'TeamLead' group.

2. Make the new group 'TeamLead' the owner of the 'members' and 'visitor' groups

3. Enable the group owner ('TeamLead') to be able to edit the membership of the 'members' and 'visitor' groups.

Thanks for any feedback. I have tried searching unsuccessfully for a best practice solution.

EDIT: Using SharePoint 2007

• Moved by Mike Walsh FIN Friday, August 5, 2011 6:10 AM admin q - don't know why it was sent to customization (From:SharePoint - Design and Customization (pre-SharePoint 2010))
    Thursday, August 4, 2011 7:06 PM

Answers

• Hi Larry,