Loop in Power Query RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I am new to power query and want to loop over all rows of a table to get some conditional data which needs to be stored as I further need to use this stored data to create new rows dynamically. This is needed because I want to create null records for the years not having data for a choice field so that my graph does not break. Please let me know if there is any alternate solution for this.

Thanks..

Wednesday, July 4, 2018 11:04 AM

Answers

• Hi Tanvi,

The graph that I plotted assumed 0 and not null values. There are two problems with this approach:

1) Zero represents a value and null represents the absence of a value. Therefore, if the actual representation should be null, then using zero is misleading.
    2) The graph is skewed such that lines are compressed compared to your original graph. The range of values are not close to zero, yet the graph emphasizes the slopes to the x-axis.

If we use null instead of zero, the graph is the same as your original graph. Since null cannot be represented by any value on the y-axis, the line must discontinue at those null points. Therefore, for null values, your graph is correct, despite how it looks.

Anyway, I used the following transformations for the plot:

let
        PreviousStep = ...,
        RemovedColumns = Table.RemoveColumns(PreviousStep,{"Count"}),
        ColumnNames = Table.ColumnNames(RemovedColumns),
        GroupedRows = Table.Group(RemovedColumns, {"YearNWeek"}, {{"Table", each Table.Pivot(_, List.Distinct(_[Tracks]), "Tracks", "Average"), type table}}),
        CombinedTables = Table.Combine(GroupedRows[Table]),
        TrackColumnNames = List.Select(Table.ColumnNames(CombinedTables), each Text.Contains(_, "Track")),
        ReplacedValue = Table.ReplaceValue(CombinedTables, null, 0, Replacer.ReplaceValue, TrackColumnNames),
        UnpivotedColumns = Table.Unpivot(ReplacedValue, TrackColumnNames, "Track", "Average"),