none
project professional 2010: earned value over time report returns wrong values when using physical % complete RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

Is there a microsoft project visual earned value over time report tutorial? I've been searching for one but can't find any. I have some knowledge about the earned value over time report but I have a problem I can't resolve and thats why I need the tutorial. My problem is that when I use the physical % complete as the earned value method and after populating the physical % complete with values, the earned value over time report shows a straight horizontal line as the earned value in the graphical report! I can't find what the problem is. I have all the requirements to generate a earned value report such as a baseline, costed resources assigned to tasks, a WBS, progress, a status date, etc...  Any help or reference to a microsoft project earned value over time report is much appreciated.

Thanks,
    George

• Edited by geo_d Friday, October 14, 2011 8:09 AM
    Monday, August 15, 2011 7:29 AM

Answers

• Hi George,

Just a few more points in this process.  I happen to be working at a client site and tested the scenario - incorrect BCWP showing on the assignment line when using Physical % complete -- and it predates Project 2010.  I see the exact issue in Project 2003.  When using Physical % complete, the assignment line data is incorrect.  I don't believe it was as much of an issue in 2003 because Visual Reports did not show up until 2007 release.

In Project 2010 (and 2003) working with % Complete works fine -- the issue appears to be the calculation using Physical % complete.

I don't have a 2007 machine available to test -- but I'd wager the issue occurs there as well.